Skip to content
News News

Call for 2020 IDA Award Nominations

2019 IDA Award recipients, joined by IDA Executive Director Ruskin Hartley (left) and Board President Ken Kattner (right), attend Annual General Meeting. Photo Credit: Karen Wright for International Dark-Sky Association

Do you know a dark sky advocate who deserves recognition for their work protecting the night from light pollution? Whether they have dedicated decades to reducing light pollution, brought innovative dark sky solutions to the lighting industry, or are an up-and-coming defender of the dark, the International Dark-Sky Association would like to celebrate their commitment to the dark sky movement. 

The IDA Awards Committee is pleased to invite nominations for the 2020 IDA Awards. Each year, the organization recognizes and celebrates the incredible achievements of individuals and groups who are committed to our mission to protect the night from light pollution. 

“It’s always a pleasure to reward and recognize the hard work of such an inspiring, energetic, and effective group of dark sky advocates worldwide” says James Lowenthal, IDA Awards Committee Chair.

The nomination period is open through June 30th, 2020. The IDA Awards Committee will review nominations and submit recommendations to the Board of Directors for ratification. Awards will be announced by October 1st, 2020. Each awardee receives a personalized award, registration to join 2020 Annual General Meeting (held online this year), and one-year complimentary membership to IDA.

Learn more about each award category and submit a nomination here

The 2020 Award categories are: 

  • Crawford/Hunter Lifetime Achievement Award for pioneering leadership in protecting the night sky and reducing light pollution
  • Hoag/Robinson Award for outstanding work in educating governmental organizations, businesses and the public about the merits of outdoor lighting control ordinances
  • Galileo Award in recognition of outstanding achievements in research or academic work on light pollution over a multiple year period
  • Lighting Design and Technological Innovation Award for quality outdoor lighting
  • Dark Sky Defender Award in appreciation and recognition of individuals’ and/or organizations’ exceptional efforts to promote and advance the mission and programs of IDA to preserve night skies
  • Rising Star Award in honor of a student of any grade level who demonstrates enthusiasm for and commitment to dark sky efforts
  • Bob Gent Community Leadership Award in recognition of exceptional leadership in outreach and education programs or natural nighttime awareness
  • Nocturnal Habitat Protection Award recognizing those whose actions have been instrumental to the conservation of substantial nocturnal habitat
  • International Dark Sky Place of the Year in recognition of exceptional achievement to an IDSP that has been established for at least three years

Who do you know that should receive an IDA Award for their role in the dark sky movement? Learn more about our award categories and submit a nomination today.


See a list of previous IDA Award Recipients here